Tags

, , ,

Colorful Trees

Its amazing the difference a few weeks can make in the weather. Not so long ago it was so hot I could barely stand to be outside for very long. The strong Oklahoma winds blew air that felt like it came out of a furnace. But now, there is a slight hit of autumn in the October wind. The night air still feels warm, but more like a blanket wrapped around my shoulders. In a few short weeks I will need a real blanket to keep me warm as cooler air pushes the hot air aside. The night breeze catches the dying oak leaves and pulls them from tiny branches. They dance on the wind and land in the yard where reminders of last years autumn leaves still rest.   Muted colors of red, orange and yellow replace a complacent green. Morning comes later and night comes earlier. Shorter days give way to more time to relax.

October is my favorite month and while I wish sometimes it lasted all year long, I realize that its just a break between extremes and it’s brevity is what makes it so special.
