Posted in memories, Photography, Photography 101

Treasured Memories (Day 16)

My grandparents never threw anything away. By today’s standards, they might have been considered hoarders, although the overflow was confined to sheds, dressers, and cabinet drawers. They were a product of  The Great Depression, believers in the notion that you  never knew when something might be useful.

As a child, rummaging through my grandmother’s treasurers was one of my favorite past-times. No doubt this led to my love of old things. I’m not an antique collector, or a real collector of any kind; however, over the years I have acquired a great number of ‘treasures’ of my own, many of which live in an old second-hand china cabinet with only three legs.

Whether it is my daughter’s origami, mementos from my first cruise, or my mother’s china; my treasurers connect me to my past, both good times and bad.

1-DSCF5427

One of my shelves is devoted almost entirely to shot glasses. These remind me of the places I have been and the fun times I had traveling.

1-DSCF5428

I don’t know the story behind my father’s collection of Toby mugs but I have several of these in various sizes.

 

If I had to choose from among all the things I treasure, I would choose the letters my mother wrote to my grandmother while she and my father traveled from job-to-job. Some were written before I was born, some soon after when I was still with them,  and the remaining few were written just before she was diagnosed with cancer. She died before my second birthday and these letters are the only way I know her.

photo

I value your comments

