Tags

, , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhat is your biggest barrier to weight loss, and why?

I am my  barrier to weight loss (and good health). As soon as I set (any)  goal, every ounce of my being rebels. I literally see myself caving in to self-doubt and self-control. It has nothing to do with belief in my ability to do this. I have done this before, I know the drill. But for some reason, this time, I am really struggling with momentum.  I hope through journaling I will discover exactly what it is that is standing in my way.

I know this won’t be easy (it wasn’t easy the first time), but it is not impossible. And there are challenges:

  • Planning around the family and their eating preferences
  • Preparing health meals
  • Rearranging my schedule to find time to go to the gym several times a week
  • Substituting crappy food with better food choices
  • Fighting the urge to give into temptation (whether it is food or laziness)
  • Finding better ways to deal with day-to-day stress

The primary reason all of these challenges are so “challenging” is that I don’t put myself first. Don’t get me wrong, I can be very selfish, but not about the right things. Most women, at least the older ones, spend their energy on everyone else’s needs. When it comes to our own needs, we are too tired to even care. Our selfishness comes out in other, more destructive ways, such as bad eating habits and lack of exercise.

It comes down to priorities and my number one priority should be my own health. If I am not healthy, nothing else really matters because my health affects my family, my finances, and my future. Doing everything in my power to be healthy is not a selfish act and I need to do whatever it takes to get healthy.

It’s that simple

1-12

 

 

 

Inspiration for this post comes from 30 Day Emotional Eating Journal Challenge

