Posted in Miscellaneous

A Life too Short

 

Image
Rose Lillian Thompson Brown

When I think of mortality, I think of people whose lives are cut short due to illness, accidents or violence. Like my mother, who was only 32 years old when she died of cancer in the late 1950’s.  Her death came much too quickly, less than a year from the time she received the news until the time she died.  I was much too young to have first-hand knowledge of the events surrounding her death, but I can imagine what it must have been like for her. The fear she felt must have cut her like a knife.

Fear not only for herself and fear for the husband she loved and her baby daughter who she would not see grow up. There must have been anger,  how could there not be? We all expect long life and she was cheated. Thirty is barely getting started. I hope there was acceptance, just so she had some peace in the end. I often wonder what her good-bye to me was like. How can anyone hold their child, knowing it is the last time. The pain must have been worse than anything the cancer threw at her.

Dying puts life into perspective.  I wish I knew my mother’s dreams, the ones she was unable to fulfill because of an early death. Would she have lived her life differently had she known she was going to die so soon? I will never know because death locks that door and throws away the key. But I’m pretty certain she is like the rest of us and thought there’s always tomorrow. But what we forget is that tomorrow is always borrowed time. 

 
Which brings me to the present and my own mortality. I’ve already lived more years than both my parents. I like to believe I have a long life ahead, with plenty of time to accomplish all my goals, to see all the things I want to see, to try all the new things I want to try, and to be the type of person I want to be. But I have no guarantee of another second of life. If there are things I want, I need to go after them now. Not tomorrow, not next year.  It’s cliche I know, but  every moment of life should be lived to the fullest. Figure out what is important and go for it. Stop wasting time pursuing things that have no meaning. Never regret putting something off  because you thought you had time. You just might not.
 
 
Footnote: I am participating in Blogging 101 and this blog was written as part of Assignment 12 – Be Inspired by the Community. The inspiration for my blog came from a post on Diary of a Travel Addict called Addicted to Travel. To see the original blog, please go to http://en.wordpress.com/read/blog/id/66750057/ 
I value your comments

